Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL), also known simply as Norwegian, is known for providing luxurious, upscale cruise experiences. Its fleet of vessels features private sanctuaries, intimate dining, resort-style amenities and even a round-the-clock butler service. And with itineraries from Australia to the South Pacific islands, New Zealand and Indonesia, there are plenty of opportunities to soak up serenity onboard an NCL cruise.

Every cruise gets you closer to rewards as a member of Norwegian’s loyalty program, Latitudes Rewards. Here are the benefits you can enjoy with the program, plus our tips on maximising rewards on your next cruise booking.

How does Latitudes Rewards work?

After your first cruise with NCL, you’re eligible to join Latitudes Rewards. There are seven membership tiers, determined by how many points you’ve accumulated.

  • Bronze – one point (ie. after your first cruise)
  • Silver – 20 points
  • Gold – 45 points
  • Platinum – 75 points
  • Sapphire – 150 points
  • Diamond – 350 points
  • Ambassador – 700 points

There are a few different ways to earn points with Latitudes Rewards:

  • Earn one point per one cruise night.
  • Earn one additional point per night when booking a full-fare suite (excluding Club Balcony Suites) or The Haven.
  • Earn one additional point per night when booking a Latitudes Rewards Insider Offer.

Latitudes Rewards member benefits

With so many layers in the Latitudes Rewards program, there are plenty of benefits for members to enjoy as they progress through the tiers. We won’t list all the perks in this guide, but here are some notable benefits to look forward to as a Latitudes Rewards member.

All members

  • 30-50% Unlimited Open Bar Package Discount
  • 10-15% discount in duty-free shops

Silver and above

  • 10-20% discount on shore excursions
  • 15-25% discount on spa signature treatments
  • Exclusive cocktail party

Gold and above

  • Priority tender tickets

Platinum and above

  • One free bag of laundry
  • Priority check-in/embarkation
  • Dinner for two with a bottle of wine (per stateroom)
  • Behind the scenes ship tour

Sapphire and above

  • Priority restaurant and entertainment seating (subject to availability)

Diamond only

  • One-time free cabin upgrade

Ambassador only

  • Complimentary seven-day cruise

Explore the full updated list of Latitudes Rewards tier benefits here.

How do I join Norwegian Cruise Line’s loyalty program?

Many cruise loyalty programs require you to complete a cruise before you can become a member, and Latitudes Rewards follows this model.

You can, however, create a My NCL account before you sail. After your first cruise, and after you become a Latitudes Rewards member, you’ll be able to view your cruise history and points in your account.

So, if you want to become a member, it’s time to book a cruise!

Other ways to earn rewards when you book a Norwegian cruise

Despite its name, Norwegian Cruise Line is based in Miami. US residents can apply for an NCL credit card that offers additional benefits when cruising. While the card and subsequent perks aren’t available for Australian residents, you can still earn rewards when booking an NCL cruise using a points-earning credit card.

Cruises are big-ticket purchases. If you’re already planning a getaway, why not take advantage of the opportunity to earn points from your spend? And by leveraging a credit card sign up bonus, like the one below, you could earn enough bonus points to put towards your next holiday! Curious about just how far frequent flyer points can take you? Explore our Experiences around the world using points.

Also read: Getting started with frequent flyer programs

Featured image: Alonso Reyes, Unsplash

The Ultimate Guide to Latitudes Rewards was last modified: April 22nd, 2024 by Victoria Kyriakopoulos