With the situation on travel bans and restrictions seemingly changing by the hour, we have created a guide to update you on the current status of travel to popular destinations frequented by Australians.

This guide will be updated as travel restrictions are updated.

Smartraveller Advice Levels

Your first point of call for any overseas travel advice if you are an Australian Citizen or Permanent Resident is to visit the smartraveller website.

In particular, make sure in particular that are familiar with the Level 1-4 travel advice listed on their site.

Make sure to make the smartraveller website your first port of call before travelling overseas from Australia.
Ad – Scroll down to continue reading.Minimum spend, terms & conditions apply.

Travel Status by Country

Below we outline the current travel status for some of the more popular destinations frequented by Australian based travellers. We will endeavour to keep this list up to date, but given the fluid nature of events at present, please alert us if something does become out of date.


As of Wednesday 25 March 2020, Australians will be banned from travelling overseas. This is upgraded travel advice from the previous do not travel restriction, which had represented the highest level travel restriction by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

The Australian Government have also announced:

  • all Australian Citizens and Permanent Residents are required to self-isolate for 14 days 
  • Non-citizens will be denied entry from 9pm AEST Friday 20 March 2020
  • a ban on cruise liners from foreign ports arriving at Australian ports for 30 days.

Foreign nationals (excluding permanent residents of Australia) who have been in the following countries will not be allowed to enter Australia for 14 days from the time they have left or transited through:

  • mainland China
  • Iran
  • Republic of Korea
  • Italy.

Australian citizens and permanent residents will still be able to enter, as will immediate family members (spouses, legal guardians or dependents only). They will be required to self-isolate at home for 14 days from the day they left China, Iran, the Republic of Korea or Italy.

Australia will deny entry to anyone who has left or transited a country subject to travel restrictions within the previous 14 days, with the exception of:

  • Australian citizens
  • permanent residents
  • New Zealand citizens resident in Australia
  • immediate family members of Australian citizens and permanent residents including spouses, minor dependants and legal guardians
  • diplomats.

Meanwhile, the Tasmanian Government will require all arrivals into the state to self-isolate for 14 days.

Date Restriction Ends: No end date, but is temporary and will be frequently reviewed

Further information: Smartraveller and Department of Home Affairs

New Zealand

Non-citizens will be denied entry into New Zealand from 11:59pm NZDT Thursday 19 March 2020

From Sunday 15 March 2020 all New Zealand Citizens and Permanent Residents from anywhere in the world, apart from the Pacific, will be required to self-isolate for 14 days and register with Healthline (0800 358 5453).

There are also temporary restrictions on travellers arriving in New Zealand from mainland China or Iran as a precautionary measure to protect against the spread of COVID-19.

Date Restriction Ends: Will be reviewed 31 March 2020.

Further information: SafeTravel

United States

President Donald J. Trump also signed a Presidential Proclamation, which suspends the entry of most foreign nationals who have been in certain European countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the United States.

These countries, known as the Schengen Area, include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. This does not apply to legal permanent residents, (generally) immediate family members of U.S. citizens, and other individuals who are identified in the proclamation.

Date Restriction Ends: Unknown

Further information: Department of Homeland Security

United Kingdom

Currently no restriction upon entering, but the UK is considering joining the European Union Schengen Area 30 day travel ban for all non-essential travel.

Date Restriction Ends: Not applicable

Further information: Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO)

European Union

The European Union (EU) has only recently begun to implement a co-ordinated policy amongst it’s 26 Schengen countries, along with non-Schengen EU countries and other European nations including the United Kingdom.

Prior to this, many member states were unilaterally creating travel restrictions within their own borders.

The EU has now implemented a ban for all non-EU citizens or residents (along with their immediate family) from entering external Schengen borders for a period of 30 days for all non-essential travel, beginning 17 March 2020.

Given that the EU is made up of 27 member states, it is difficult to keep track of all individual member state restrictions, especially those applying to internal border controls that have temporarily been created during this crisis. As such, we recommend clicking on the link below and navigating to the foreign ministry site of the relevant EU Member State.

Date Restriction Ends: Varies among member states, but possible EU wide restriction will last 30 days.

Further information: EU Consular Protection


Foreign nationals who hold a Chinese passport issued by Hubei/Zhejiang Provinces or who have visited following countries or areas within 14 days of arrival in Japan will not be able to land in Japan except under special circumstances for the time being

Visitors/Travelers (Including Japanese) arriving in Japan from mainland China, Hong Kong, Macao and Republic of Korea will be asked to first stay at designated facilities for 14 days and to avoid using any public transportation. For details, please check the following page.

All plane arrivals from mainland China and the Republic of Korea will be limited to Tokyo Narita (NRT) and Osaka Kansai (KIX) international airports.

Ship transportation of passengers from China and the Republic of Korea will be suspended.

Date Restriction Ends: Unknown

Further information: Japan Travel

Status of other countries

To determine travel bans for all countries, you may wish to refer to the following site, https://www.movingfc.com, which allows you to input your departure and arrival country to determine the current restrictions and bans that apply.

COVID-19: Latest travel bans & restrictions was last modified: July 8th, 2020 by Daniel Sciberras